None of these products is a DC fast charging surge protector. They are 125V-class outlet extenders and power strips for household devices, while DC fast charging equipment for electric vehicles uses a dedicated high-power system. I would not connect an EV DC fast charger to any of these products. For phones and tablets near a regular outlet, the Maxpw is my best overall pick for its wall-retaining screw and support rod; the Power Strip Surge Protector is the better fit when a six-foot cord and higher-output USB-C port matter; and the Surge Protector Wall Outlet Extender adds a handy night light. Their tradeoffs are outlet compatibility, USB limits, and differing surge and electrical ratings.
Get backup power and energy gear delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
This guide compares the listed specifications for everyday indoor charging and surge protection. I focus on what each product can support, how it attaches, and what a buyer should verify before plugging in equipment. The phrase “fast charging” here refers to USB charging for small electronics, not DC charging for an electric vehicle.
Key Takeaways
- None of the three is suitable for protecting or powering an EV DC fast charger; all are household products rated around 125V.
- The Maxpw is the strongest wall-mounted choice in this group because its screw lock and support rod help steady a loaded extender.
- The corded power strip gives more placement flexibility and lists a 35W USB-C PD port, but its 10A and 1250W ratings conflict with a description that mentions 15A.
- The black wall extender combines six AC outlets, four USB ports, and a dusk-to-dawn light, but its USB ports are not intended for laptop charging.
- All three list 1050 or 800 joules of surge protection; that figure alone does not establish suitability for sensitive equipment or EV charging.
| Maxpw Surge Protector Outlet Extender with 6 Outlets and 4 USB Ports | ![]() | Best Overall for a Secure Wall Outlet Setup | AC outlets: 6 | USB ports: 4: 2 USB-C and 2 USB-A | USB-C output: USB-C1: up to 20W PD when used alone; USB-C2: 15W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Surge Protector Wall Outlet Extender with 6 Outlets, 4 USB Ports (20W USB-C PD), Night Light, Black | ![]() | Best for a Household Charging Spot with a Night Light | AC outlets: 6 | USB ports: 4: 1 USB-C PD, 1 USB-C, 2 USB-A | USB-C PD output: 20W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Power Strip Surge Protector with 5 Outlets, USB-A and USB-C Charging, and 6 ft Flat Cord | ![]() | Best for Flexible Placement and Higher USB-C Output | AC outlets: 5 | USB ports: 2 USB-A and 2 USB-C | USB-C PD output: Listed outputs of 20W and 35W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| DC fast charging surge protector | AC outlets | USB ports | Surge protection | Voltage and plug |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maxpw Surge Protector Outlet E | 6 | 4: 2 USB-C and 2 USB-A | 1050 joules | 125V; Type B, 3-pin |
| Surge Protector Wall Outlet Ex | 6 | 4: 1 USB-C PD, 1 USB-C, 2 USB-A | 1050 joules | — |
| Power Strip Surge Protector wi | 5 | 2 USB-A and 2 USB-C | 800 joules | 110–125V; Type B, 3-pin |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Maxpw Surge Protector Outlet Extender with 6 Outlets and 4 USB Ports
The screw lock and support rod give the Maxpw its clearest advantage over the other wall extender here. A block with six AC outlets can carry several bulky adapters, and the extra fastening helps keep it seated against the receptacle. The other direct-plug option, the black six-outlet extender, does not list a comparable retention feature. For a fixed household charging point, that makes the Maxpw my leading pick among these three.
Its 1050-joule surge rating matches the black extender and exceeds the power strip’s listed 800 joules. That is useful as a basic comparison, but I would not treat joules alone as proof that it can protect every device or circuit. The Maxpw has six AC outlets and four USB ports, including two USB-C ports. USB-C1 can provide up to 20W PD only when used alone; the second USB-C port is listed at 15W. That limitation makes it less suitable than the corded strip for buyers seeking a stated 35W USB-C output.
The support rod brings a fit caveat: the product information says it may need trimming around USB outlets or GFCI receptacles. That is a meaningful inconvenience, and modifying a part is not a step I would recommend without checking the manufacturer’s instructions. I would also confirm the wall outlet type and dimensions before ordering. Compared with the black extender, the Maxpw prioritizes a firmer wall connection over a built-in night light. It is a household accessory, not a protector for an EV DC fast charger.
Pros:- Six AC outlets and four USB ports expand a single compatible outlet.
- Screw lock and support rod help steady the extender against the wall.
- 1050-joule surge rating and ETL certification are listed.
- Two USB-C ports offer flexible charging for phones and other small electronics.
Cons:- The 20W USB-C PD output is available only when that port is used alone.
- Support rod may require trimming around some outlet types.
- Not suitable for EV DC fast charging or other equipment beyond its household ratings.
Best for: Someone who wants a multi-device household charging station that plugs directly into a compatible wall outlet and values added wall support.
Not ideal for: EV owners seeking DC fast charger protection, laptop users who need high-wattage USB charging, or anyone who cannot accommodate its support rod at a USB or GFCI receptacle.
- AC outlets:6
- USB ports:4: 2 USB-C and 2 USB-A
- USB-C output:USB-C1: up to 20W PD when used alone; USB-C2: 15W
- Surge protection:1050 joules
- Maximum power and current:1875W, 15A
- Voltage and plug:125V; Type B, 3-pin
- Dimensions:3.54 × 5.31 × 1.72 inches
- Mounting support:Screw lock and support rod
Our verdict“For a fixed household outlet, I rank the Maxpw first because its support hardware adds practical stability while its six outlets and 1050-joule rating match the group’s strongest wall extender options.”
Surge Protector Wall Outlet Extender with 6 Outlets, 4 USB Ports (20W USB-C PD), Night Light, Black
If a charging point also needs gentle lighting, this six-outlet extender with a dusk-to-dawn night light has the most useful extra feature in the group. Its light sensor and three brightness levels suit a bedroom, hallway, or guest space where a bright lamp is unwanted. The Maxpw also plugs directly into the wall and matches its six AC outlets and 1050-joule surge rating, but it focuses on securing the block with a support rod rather than lighting the room.
The three-sided layout and 2.2-inch spacing are intended to leave room for bulky plugs. It provides four USB ports, including one 20W USB-C PD port, alongside six AC outlets. That combination can keep phones, tablets, and household accessories together without filling every nearby outlet. Its listed maximum is 1875W at 15A and 125VAC, so the product belongs to an ordinary North American household outlet context. The description specifically says the USB ports do not support laptop charging.
Compared with the Maxpw, this extender trades its screw lock and support rod for a built-in night light and a stated lifetime protection coverage. A buyer should check the duplex outlet type and available clearance because the unit needs a compatible receptacle. The manufacturer lists ETL certification, but certification and a 1050-joule rating do not turn it into an EV charging protection device. I would choose it for small electronics and nighttime convenience, not for an EV supply circuit or high-power charging needs.
Pros:- Six AC outlets and four USB ports combine in one wall-mounted unit.
- 20W USB-C PD port supports fast charging for compatible phones and tablets.
- Three-sided outlet layout has 2.2-inch spacing for bulky adapters.
- Dusk-to-dawn light offers three brightness levels.
Cons:- USB ports are not specified for laptop charging.
- Requires a compatible duplex outlet; buyers should verify outlet style.
- Does not list the Maxpw’s screw lock and support rod.
Best for: A household buyer who wants several phone and tablet charging connections plus a dimmable automatic night light at a compatible wall outlet.
Not ideal for: Anyone needing laptop USB charging, a supported wall attachment like the Maxpw provides, or surge protection for a DC fast charger.
- AC outlets:6
- USB ports:4: 1 USB-C PD, 1 USB-C, 2 USB-A
- USB-C PD output:20W
- Surge protection:1050 joules
- Voltage and current:125VAC, 15A
- Maximum power:1875W
- Plug type:Type A/B, North American
- Certification and coverage:ETL certified; lifetime protection coverage listed
Our verdict“I recommend this extender for a household charging area where the integrated night light matters more than wall-retention hardware or higher-wattage USB-C output.”
Power Strip Surge Protector with 5 Outlets, USB-A and USB-C Charging, and 6 ft Flat Cord
The six-foot cord and listed 35W USB-C PD port set this power strip apart from both wall extenders. It can sit on a desk or be mounted on a wall, so the receptacle does not dictate exactly where charging happens. That is a practical advantage if a bedside table or work surface is a short distance from the outlet. Its four USB ports include two USB-C and two USB-A, and the supplied details list total USB output of 65W.
For USB charging, this is the strongest stated option in the lineup: the black wall extender lists a 20W PD port and Maxpw lists up to 20W for its first USB-C port when used alone. The power strip’s 35W figure may suit compatible phones and some other small devices, but it does not make this a general-purpose laptop power supply; buyers should check the device’s requirements and the port-sharing behavior. It has five AC outlets, one fewer than either wall extender.
The main concern is the conflicting current information. The specifications list 10A and 1250W, while the description also mentions 15A. I would rely on the product label and manufacturer documentation before connecting anything near those limits. Its surge rating is 800 joules, below the two 1050-joule wall extenders. The three-color night light and overload protection add convenience, but the rating conflict and lower surge figure place it third for a general recommendation. Like the other products, it is not made for an EV DC fast charger.
Pros:- Six-foot flat cord allows flexible placement away from the wall receptacle.
- Four USB ports include a listed 35W USB-C PD port.
- Can sit on a desk or be mounted on a wall.
- Includes overload protection and a three-color night light.
Cons:- Five AC outlets, fewer than either wall extender.
- Surge protection is listed at 800 joules, below the two extenders.
- Description’s 15A statement conflicts with the 10A and 1250W specifications.
Best for: Someone who wants a corded charging hub for a desk or bedside surface and values a listed 35W USB-C PD port for compatible small devices.
Not ideal for: Anyone who needs six AC outlets, a higher listed joule rating, or an unambiguous 15A specification before choosing a power strip.
- AC outlets:5
- USB ports:2 USB-A and 2 USB-C
- USB-C PD output:Listed outputs of 20W and 35W
- Total USB power:65W
- Surge protection:800 joules
- Cord length:6 ft (2 m)
- Maximum current and power:Listed as 10A and 1250W; description also mentions 15A
- Voltage and plug:110–125V; Type B, 3-pin
Our verdict“This is my pick for corded placement and higher stated USB-C output, provided its label resolves the current-rating conflict for the buyer’s intended use.”

How We Picked
I ranked these products for household surge-protected charging, since the supplied specifications do not describe any of them as DC fast charging equipment or as protection devices for an EV charging circuit. The distinction matters: DC fast chargers operate at power levels and through electrical connections far beyond a plug-in outlet extender’s stated 125V, 15A or 10A limits. I therefore do not award any product a recommendation for EV DC fast charging.
Within their actual household use, I compared surge rating, outlet capacity, USB output, mounting and placement, and the clarity of the electrical specifications. A higher joule rating is one point of comparison, not a complete measure of protection. I also considered practical details that can determine whether a device works at all, such as a screw connection, the need for a compatible duplex outlet, and the corded model’s conflicting current claims.
That method puts the Maxpw first for a fixed wall location because its screw lock and support rod address the leverage created by several plugged-in adapters. The six-outlet black extender follows for buyers who value its light and clearly stated 15A capacity. The corded strip is the most flexible on placement and lists the highest USB-C PD output, but the mismatch between its stated 10A/1250W limits and a 15A description keeps it third. Before buying any of them, I would match the product’s plug and electrical ratings to the intended household circuit and device.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best DC Fast Charging Surge Protectors
I would start by checking the charging equipment’s requirements, then decide whether a direct wall block or a corded strip fits the space. These three products are intended for household outlet use; their listed ratings do not match the demands of DC fast charging.Separate USB fast charging from EV DC fast charging
“Fast charging” can refer to two very different things. USB-C PD supplies power to small electronics through a USB port; EV DC fast charging uses dedicated vehicle charging equipment and electrical infrastructure. The products here list household voltage and current ratings, and none is described as an EV charging station, EVSE accessory, or DC surge protection device. I would never connect a DC fast charger through an outlet extender or ordinary power strip.
For an EV installation, select equipment and surge protection specifically rated for the charging system and have the installation checked against its instructions and applicable electrical requirements. For household USB devices, compare the actual output each phone or tablet can accept. A 35W port will not force a device to draw 35W, and a device’s charging speed depends on compatibility and port use.
Read surge joules as one comparison point
The Maxpw and black wall extender list 1050 joules, while the corded strip lists 800 joules. That makes the first two higher on this one stated measure. It does not tell me everything about clamping voltage, response, construction, warranty terms, or suitability for sensitive equipment. I would check the product’s documentation for protection status indicators, what the coverage applies to, and whether the maker specifies an end-of-life signal.
Do not use the joule number to justify plugging in equipment beyond the strip’s electrical limits. Surge protection and overload protection address different concerns, and neither changes a product’s maximum voltage or current rating.
Choose a wall extender or a corded strip
A direct wall extender keeps the charging hub close to the receptacle and avoids a dangling cord. The Maxpw adds a screw lock and support rod, which may help when multiple adapters load the unit. The black extender instead adds automatic night lighting. Both require a compatible outlet and enough physical space around it.
The corded strip gives placement flexibility for a table, shelf, or desk, and its flat six-foot cord can reach beyond the receptacle. It has five AC outlets instead of six, and its listed surge figure is lower. I would also resolve its 10A/1250W versus 15A discrepancy by checking the physical label or manufacturer documentation before use.
Match USB output and outlet spacing to your devices
Count the devices that need AC plugs separately from those that can use USB. Each wall extender offers six AC outlets and four USB ports; the corded strip has five AC outlets and four USB ports. The black extender’s 2.2-inch spacing is specifically given for larger adapters. The Maxpw also advertises wide spacing, while the strip describes its AC outlets as widely spaced.
For USB charging, the black extender lists a single 20W USB-C PD port, while Maxpw’s 20W USB-C1 reaches that output only when used alone and its other USB-C port is listed at 15W. The corded strip lists a 35W port, but its stated output may depend on how ports are used. Check the manufacturer’s full port-sharing table and your device’s charging standard before making a choice.
Check plug type, circuit limits, and installation fit
These listings refer to North American Type A/B or Type B plugs and household voltage. A plug that looks compatible is not enough: confirm grounding, outlet condition, receptacle orientation, available space, and the device’s load. Avoid daisy-chaining power strips or using these products where the instructions prohibit them.
The Maxpw support rod may need adjustment around USB or GFCI receptacles according to its listing. The black extender calls for a compatible duplex outlet. The corded strip’s inconsistent current figures deserve special attention. If the product label or instructions do not clearly support the planned household load, select a product with ratings that are clear and suitable.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use one of these products with an EV DC fast charger?
No. These are household outlet extenders or a household power strip, with ratings around 110–125V and 10A or 15A. They are not specified for EV DC fast charging equipment. Use EV charging equipment and surge protection rated for the installation, and follow the charger manufacturer’s instructions.
Which product has the highest listed surge rating?
The Maxpw and the black wall extender each list 1050 joules, compared with 800 joules for the corded power strip. That makes their stated joule figure higher, but it does not establish overall protection quality or suitability for every device. Check the full documentation and ratings for the equipment you plan to protect.
Which option is best for charging phones and tablets?
All three include USB ports for small electronics. The black extender offers a 20W USB-C PD port, Maxpw lists up to 20W on USB-C1 when that port is used alone, and the corded strip lists a 35W USB-C PD port. I would match the port’s output and sharing rules to the device; the black extender explicitly says its USB ports do not support laptop charging.
Why does the corded power strip rank third?
It is the most flexible to place and has the highest stated USB-C PD output, but its listed 800-joule surge rating is lower than the wall extenders’ 1050 joules. It also has five AC outlets rather than six, and its specifications say 10A/1250W while the description mentions 15A. I would confirm the actual rating on the product label before choosing it for a particular load.
What should I check before buying a wall outlet extender?
Confirm the plug and receptacle type, grounding, available clearance, outlet condition, and total electrical load. Check whether the extender’s body blocks neighboring outlets or needs a duplex receptacle. For Maxpw, review the support rod’s fit around your receptacle; for the black extender, verify the compatible outlet requirement. Use the product only within its stated ratings.
Conclusion
For a fixed household charging station, I would choose the Maxpw because its screw lock and support rod set it apart from the other direct-wall option. If an automatic night light is more useful than added wall support, the black extender gives six AC outlets, four USB ports, and adjustable dusk-to-dawn lighting. If you need to place a charging hub on a desk or table, the corded strip offers a six-foot lead and a listed 35W USB-C PD port, but I would verify its current rating against the product label first.
For EV DC fast charging, none of these is an appropriate choice. Select surge protection designed and rated for the EV charging installation.
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.



