AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Prime Big Deal Days · Oct 6–7Offer from Amazon

Get backup power and energy gear delivered free — and shop member deals

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Tesla has expanded vehicle-to-home backup capability to its newer Model 3 and Model Y vehicles, provided owners also have a Powerwall 3. The setup uses power-conversion hardware in the cars and a standard Wall Connector, avoiding the separate bidirectional DC charger required by many competing systems. Cost, eligibility and broader utility-grid use remain important limits.

Tesla says its new Model 3 and Model Y electric vehicles can now supply power to a home when paired with a Powerwall 3, extending a vehicle-to-home backup feature already available on the Cybertruck. The setup uses power-conversion hardware built into the vehicles and Tesla’s standard Wall Connector, rather than a separate, costly bidirectional DC charger.

The newly announced arrangement depends on the home having a Powerwall 3, Tesla’s stationary home battery. The company says owners can connect a compatible EV through its standard Wall Connector. Canary Media reports that the Wall Connector retails for $595; the report says the EV could provide an additional two to three days of backup power, though actual duration will depend on factors such as household energy use and the vehicle’s available charge.

The approach addresses a technical hurdle: homes use alternating current (AC), while EV batteries store energy as direct current (DC). Many existing vehicle-to-home systems use a separate bidirectional charger to convert power. Tesla instead places the conversion hardware in the vehicle, a design that the company says can reduce the cost of the equipment needed for the connection.

The reported prices do not make the full arrangement inexpensive. Canary Media lists the Powerwall 3 at $8,200 before installation, with installation adding several thousand dollars. The report compares this with DC bidirectional charger systems that commonly cost $6,500 to $10,000 or more, excluding a home battery. Tesla’s Cybertruck can also provide home backup with a separate V2H hardware package listed at $1,990, plus about $1,800 to $2,200 for installation, and does not require a Powerwall, according to the report.

At a glance
updateWhen: Announced Tuesday, according to Canary…
The developmentTesla announced that its latest Model 3 and Model Y can provide backup power to homes equipped with a Powerwall 3.

Lower-Cost Hardware Could Broaden Home Backup

The announcement matters because equipment cost has limited adoption of EV-based backup. Tesla’s design may reduce the extra charger expense for households that already own, or are considering, a compatible vehicle and Powerwall. That could make it easier for some owners to use a parked EV’s battery during an outage, while keeping the battery’s energy available for driving when needed.

The broader potential extends beyond individual homes, but it is not automatic. A large fleet of EVs could provide substantial energy storage if vehicles can connect safely and reliably to homes or the grid. A study cited by Canary Media estimated that California could meet one-third of its grid-storage needs by drawing on 10% of the 9.7 million EVs it expects by the mid-2030s. That is a study projection, not a measured result or a forecast of what Tesla’s new setup alone will deliver.

Lower equipment costs could also matter to utilities seeking customer participation in backup or grid-support programs. But the new Model 3 and Model Y capability, as described in the report, is a home-backup offering tied to Powerwall 3; it should not be confused with broad permission or availability to send power into utility grids.

Amazon

Tesla Powerwall 3 home battery

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Tesla’s AC-Based Backup Approach

Vehicle-to-home, or V2H, systems let an EV supply electricity to a residence, typically as backup power. The mismatch between the DC electricity stored in a vehicle battery and the AC power used in homes has shaped system design. Many commercially available U.S. V2H systems use an external bidirectional charger to handle that conversion, adding equipment and installation costs.

Tesla’s Cybertruck has offered a form of this capability for more than a year, according to Canary Media. The latest announcement extends it to Model 3 and Model Y vehicles, but with a different equipment requirement: those models need a Powerwall 3, while the Cybertruck’s reported setup does not. Tesla describes the approach as part of a connected home-energy system, rather than a standalone vehicle charger.

The next step beyond home backup is vehicle-to-grid (V2G), in which utilities draw power from EVs. Canary Media reports that California and Maryland have established utility regulations allowing AC bidirectional charging outside pilot projects, while other states are working on rules. Pacific Gas & Electric has been testing V2H systems with several automakers using DC bidirectional chargers and is also technically piloting connections involving Tesla’s system.

“This is us bringing the whole ecosystem together and allowing our products to complement each other.”

— Colby Hastings, head of Tesla Energy’s residential energy business

Eligibility, Costs and Grid Access

The announcement as described by Canary Media does not provide a full list of eligible vehicle model years, software requirements or rollout markets. It also does not give a complete installed price for the Model 3 and Model Y arrangement, since the Powerwall’s installation cost varies and the household must already have, or buy, that battery.

The reported two-to-three-day backup estimate is not a guarantee for every home. The source does not specify the household energy-use assumptions behind it, or how much usable vehicle charge owners would need to reserve. It is also unclear how broadly Tesla’s systems will be approved for utility-grid export beyond the pilots described in the report. V2H home backup and V2G grid participation involve different equipment, rules and utility arrangements.

Utility Testing and Customer Rollout

Tesla’s near-term task is to bring the Model 3 and Model Y setup to customers and make its operating requirements clear, including compatibility and installation details. Owners will need to check the specific vehicle, home-battery and charger requirements before treating the announced capability as available to them.

On the grid side, Tesla is testing connections with Pacific Gas & Electric and enrolling Cybertrucks in programs with PG&E and Texas utilities CenterPoint Energy and Oncor, Hastings told Canary Media. Further utility testing, regulatory approvals and published customer terms will help establish whether the approach can move from home backup toward broader grid services. The source does not specify a schedule for wider V2G availability.

Key Questions

Which Tesla vehicles can now provide home backup?

Tesla says its latest Model 3 and Model Y can provide power to a home when paired with a Powerwall 3. The Cybertruck already had a home-backup capability, according to Canary Media.

Do Model 3 and Model Y owners need a Powerwall 3?

Yes. The reported setup for the newer Model 3 and Model Y requires a Powerwall 3 at the home, along with Tesla’s standard Wall Connector.

Does the system require a separate bidirectional charger?

Tesla’s approach puts power-conversion hardware in the vehicle, so the setup described by Canary Media does not require the separate bidirectional DC charger used by many other V2H systems.

How much does the setup cost?

Canary Media reports a $595 retail price for the Wall Connector and $8,200 for the Powerwall 3, before installation. Installation adds several thousand dollars, according to the report. It does not provide one complete installed price for the Model 3 and Model Y setup.

Can these vehicles send electricity back to the grid?

Home backup does not automatically mean grid export is available. Tesla has been testing utility connections, but broader V2G participation depends on utility programs, equipment certification and local rules. The report does not specify when wider access will be available.

Source: rss

HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

Where Does Balcony Solar Stand In Your State?

California legalized balcony solar on Sept. 30, 2026, as states consider rules for plug-in solar kits. Here’s what the latest report confirms.

Home Energy, Solar and Backup Power: A Practical Guide to Building a Resilient Energy System

AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).Home energy…