Among these home electric vehicle chargers, I’d put the EMPORIA Pro with PowerSmart forward as the best overall pick for drivers seeking high-power charging and smart features. The Autel MaxiCharger is a strong fit if you want a 40-amp plug-in unit, while the Lectron Level 1 suits drivers who can charge slowly from a standard outlet. The main tradeoffs are charging speed versus electrical installation needs, and smart controls versus a simpler portable setup. Connector type, available circuit capacity, and whether you want a plug-in or hardwired installation can narrow the field quickly. Read on for the full breakdown and a practical guide to choosing a charger that fits your home and driving routine.
Get backup power and energy gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Key Takeaways
- The EMPORIA Pro combines 48-amp charging with PowerSmart features, making it a balanced pick for buyers who want speed and smart control rather than a basic charging station.
- The Autel MaxiCharger and EVIQO offer 40-amp, NEMA 14-50 plug-in setups, a middle ground between slower portable units and higher-output hardwired models.
- The lineup’s 48- and 50-amp hardwired options can deliver higher output, but they make sense only when the home circuit and installation plan support them.
- The Level 1 Lectron and EVDANCE portable units trade charging speed for the convenience of using household outlets, so they fit modest daily mileage better than frequent long drives.
- J1772 is common across the listed chargers, but Tesla drivers should check connector compatibility and any adapter needs before choosing, especially with the Tesla-specific 48-amp model.
| home electric vehicle charger | Connector | Cable length | Maximum current |
|---|---|---|---|
| ELEGRP 48A Level 2 EV Charger | SAE J1772 | 25 ft | 48A |
| EMPORIA Pro Level 2 EV Charger | J1772 | 25 ft | 48A |
| Level 1&2 EV Charger | SAE J1772 | 25 ft | 16A |
| Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV C | J1772 | 25 ft | 40A |
| IYILO Level 2 EV Charger | SAE J1772 | 25 ft | 48A |
| Lectron Level 1 EV Charger | J1772 | 16 ft | — |
| AIMILER Level 2 Electric Vehic | J1772 | 25 ft | 32A |
| WOLFBOX 50amp Level 2 EV Charg | J1772; Tesla requires a NACS adapter | 25 ft | 50A |
| EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 | J1772 | 25 ft | 48A standard; 50A with specified 70A-circuit configuration |
| EVWallbox Level 2 EV Charger E | J1772 | 25 ft | — |
| ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 E | J1772 | — | — |
| EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 | J1772 | 25 ft | 40A |
| ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 E | J1772 | 23 ft | — |
| Level 2 EV Charger for Tesla | NACS / J3400 | 25 ft | 48A |
| EVDANCE Level 1&2 EV Charger | — | 25 ft | 12A at 120V; 16A at 240V |
More Details on Our Top Picks
ELEGRP 48A Level 2 EV Charger, 11kW, J1772, Hardwired, 25ft Cable
I’d put the ELEGRP 48A on the shortlist for a homeowner who wants a high-output, permanently mounted charger exposed to the weather. Its IP66/NEMA Type 4 protection and stated operating range of -21°F to 121°F suit an uncovered driveway better than a plug-in unit such as the Autel MaxiCharger, which is designed around a NEMA 14-50 receptacle. App scheduling, energy tracking, adjustable current, and RFID access add useful control for households sharing a charger. The tradeoff is the installation: full 48A output requires a dedicated 60A circuit and a professional electrician, so this is not a quick outlet-based upgrade. Its 25-foot cable gives useful reach, but the listing provides a shorter two-year warranty than the three years stated for the Emporia Pro and IYILO.
Pros:- 48A output is suited to drivers seeking high Level 2 charging capacity.
- IP66/NEMA Type 4 rating and broad stated temperature range support outdoor placement.
- App controls include scheduling, energy tracking, and adjustable current.
- RFID access can limit use in a shared garage or driveway.
Cons:- Full output requires hardwiring to a dedicated 60A circuit and professional installation.
- Two-year warranty is shorter than the three-year coverage listed for Emporia Pro and IYILO.
- J1772 connector may require an adapter for vehicles with a different inlet.
Best for: Homeowners with a dedicated 60A circuit plan who need a weather-rated, hardwired charger for an exposed driveway or shared garage.
Not ideal for: Renters and owners who want to use an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet or need a longer stated warranty.
- Maximum current:48A
- Charging power:11kW
- Installation:Hardwired; dedicated 60A circuit specified for full output
- Connector:SAE J1772
- Cable length:25 ft
- Operating temperature:-21°F to 121°F
- Warranty:2 years
Our verdict“Choose the ELEGRP if you need a high-output, weather-rated hardwired charger and are prepared for electrician installation.”
EMPORIA Pro Level 2 EV Charger with PowerSmart
The Emporia Pro with PowerSmart is the lineup’s clearest fit for a home where the electrical panel is the main constraint. Its load-balancing system is designed to adjust charging against household demand, which may help owners avoid a panel upgrade when their existing service can support managed charging. That is a different priority from the ELEGRP 48A, which emphasizes maximum hardwired output, or the plug-in Autel MaxiCharger, which is simpler when a suitable receptacle is already available. Emporia also includes a Vue Home Energy Monitor, adding whole-home usage visibility alongside charger scheduling and energy tracking. The main caveat is setup: PowerSmart depends on the included monitor and compatible installation, so it is less straightforward than plugging in Autel. Confirm the electrical requirements with an electrician rather than assuming load management removes every service limitation.
Pros:- PowerSmart load management is designed to balance charging with existing household electrical demand.
- Includes a Vue Home Energy Monitor for real-time home energy insights.
- App supports charging schedules and usage tracking.
- Supports either NEMA 14-50 plug or hardwired installation, with a 25-foot cable.
Cons:- PowerSmart adds setup and installation considerations compared with a basic plug-in charger.
- Maximum charging rate depends on the installation and available electrical capacity.
- J1772 connector may require an adapter for vehicles with a different inlet.
Best for: Homeowners with limited panel capacity who want managed EV charging and broader visibility into household electricity use.
Not ideal for: Drivers seeking the simplest outlet-based installation or a charger without additional energy-monitor setup.
- Maximum current:48A
- Input voltage:240V
- Installation options:NEMA 14-50 plug or hardwired
- Connector:J1772
- Cable length:25 ft
- Energy monitoring:Includes Emporia Vue Home Energy Monitor
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Pick the Emporia Pro when panel-aware charging and whole-home energy monitoring matter more than the simplest setup.”
Level 1&2 EV Charger – 16Amp Adjustable Current Home Charging Station
This 16A dual-voltage charger makes the most sense for drivers who need one portable unit for a standard household outlet and a compatible 240V receptacle. With the included 5-15 adapter, it supports Level 1 charging; on a NEMA 6-20 outlet, its stated maximum is 16A and 3.68kW. That is a substantial change in setup flexibility, but not speed parity with the 40A Autel MaxiCharger or 48A Emporia Pro. The current controls and automatic 12A limit on a 5-15 outlet are practical safeguards for using different circuits, while the 25-foot cable helps when parking position is awkward. A built-in timer and control-box display avoid reliance on a phone app. The tradeoff is modest charging power: drivers with large daily mileage or short overnight windows should favor a dedicated higher-output Level 2 station.
Pros:- Works with 120V and 240V power using the included outlet adapters.
- Current is adjustable from 6A to 16A, with a stated 12A cap on a 5-15 outlet.
- Portable format and 25-foot cable suit changing parking locations.
- Control-box display and delay timer provide basic charging information and scheduling.
Cons:- Maximum 240V output is 16A, well below the Autel, Emporia, and other high-current options.
- 240V charging requires a compatible NEMA 6-20 outlet.
- The listing does not provide a named warranty term or major certification details.
Best for: Drivers who travel between homes or need a portable charger that can use both a standard 120V outlet and a compatible NEMA 6-20 outlet.
Not ideal for: High-mileage drivers who need faster overnight replenishment than a 16A, 3.68kW charger can provide.
- Maximum current:16A
- Voltage:110V–240V
- Maximum stated 240V power:3.68kW
- 120V adapter:NEMA 5-15; current limited to 12A
- 240V plug:NEMA 6-20
- Connector:SAE J1772
- Cable length:25 ft
Our verdict“Choose this portable unit if outlet flexibility matters more than the faster charging capacity of a dedicated 40A or 48A station.”
Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV Charger up to 40Amp
The Autel MaxiCharger is my plug-in choice for a home that already has a suitable NEMA 14-50 receptacle. Its 40A maximum and adjustable settings down to 16A let owners tailor output to the circuit, while the 25-foot cable gives room to reach different parking positions. Compared with the hardwired ELEGRP 48A, Autel gives up some maximum current but avoids committing to a fixed installation; the plug can also be useful for owners who move. Scheduling through the app and optional RFID access cover basic control needs, and the NEMA 4X rating suits indoor or outdoor mounting. The important limitation is that the advertised quick installation assumes the receptacle is already installed and appropriate for the charger. Buyers without one may still need electrician work, and its 40A ceiling trails the 48A options.
Pros:- NEMA 14-50 plug makes the unit removable and can simplify setup where the outlet is already available.
- Adjustable 16A, 24A, 32A, and 40A settings offer flexibility for different circuits.
- NEMA 4X rating supports indoor or outdoor installation.
- App scheduling, optional RFID access, and a 25-foot cable add useful everyday control.
Cons:- 40A maximum is lower than the 48A ELEGRP and Emporia Pro.
- A compatible NEMA 14-50 receptacle is required for the plug-in setup.
- RFID functionality is optional rather than included as standard.
Best for: Homeowners with a suitable NEMA 14-50 outlet who want a removable, adjustable-output charger for indoor or outdoor use.
Not ideal for: Drivers seeking the highest listed charging current or buyers without an existing compatible receptacle who expect no installation work.
- Maximum current:40A
- Voltage:240V
- Installation:NEMA 14-50 plug
- Current settings:16A, 24A, 32A, and 40A
- Cable length:25 ft
- Connector:J1772
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose the Autel if you already have a suitable 14-50 outlet and value a removable charger over 48A hardwired output.”
IYILO Level 2 EV Charger, 48Amp/11.5KW/240V
The IYILO 48A stands apart through its combination of connector-temperature monitoring and multi-charger power controls. Its connector has an NTC temperature sensor that can stop charging if the listed threshold is exceeded, while power sharing can coordinate two chargers on one circuit. Dynamic load balancing is also described, but it requires a separately available energy meter, so I’d treat that as an add-on capability rather than an out-of-box feature. Compared with the ELEGRP 48A, IYILO offers more detailed power-management options; Emporia’s Pro, by contrast, includes its Vue monitor in the listed package. The IYILO is hardwired for its full 48A output and needs a 60A breaker, making it a better fit for planned installations than renters or casual plug-in users. Its 2.4GHz-only Wi-Fi also rules out some network setups.
Pros:- 48A output and 11.5kW listed power support high-capacity Level 2 charging.
- Connector NTC sensor monitors temperature and can stop charging above the stated threshold.
- Power sharing supports two chargers on one circuit.
- App offers scheduling, energy tracking, RFID access, and adjustable current.
Cons:- Full 48A output requires hardwiring, a 60A breaker, and licensed electrician installation.
- Dynamic load balancing requires a separately available energy meter.
- Wi-Fi support is limited to 2.4GHz.
Best for: Homeowners planning a hardwired high-output installation who may add a second charger or want connector temperature alerts.
Not ideal for: Renters, buyers who need a plug-in charger, or households relying on 5GHz Wi-Fi or expecting load balancing without purchasing an energy meter.
- Maximum current:48A
- Charging power:11.5kW
- Voltage:240V
- Installation:Hardwired; 60A breaker specified for full output
- Connector:SAE J1772
- Cable length:25 ft
- Certifications:ETL, Energy Star; UL 2594 testing stated
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose IYILO for a hardwired 48A setup where temperature alerts and future charger sharing matter more than plug-in simplicity.”
Lectron Level 1 EV Charger – ETL Certified, 120V, 15 Amp, 16 ft Extension Cord & J1772 Cable – Portable Electric Car Charger for J1772 EVs with NEMA 5-15 Plug
I’d choose the Lectron Level 1 when the main priority is using a standard household outlet rather than adding a 240V circuit. Its 120V, 15A setup keeps installation demands low, and the portable format makes it useful as a backup or for drivers with modest daily mileage. The tradeoff is charging speed: its stated overnight gain of 40–50 miles depends on the vehicle and conditions, and it cannot match the AIMILER Level 2’s faster 240V charging. The 16-foot cable is also shorter than the 25-foot leads on the AIMILER, WOLFBOX, and EVWallbox models, so outlet placement matters. I’d favor it over those Level 2 units only when convenience from an existing outlet outweighs rapid replenishment.
Pros:- Uses a standard 120V NEMA 5-15 outlet, avoiding the need for a dedicated 240V receptacle.
- Portable design can serve as a home backup or travel charger.
- ETL and FCC certification, plus overvoltage, overcurrent, and short-circuit protection.
- IP65-rated enclosure for dust and water resistance.
Cons:- Level 1 charging is much slower than the 240V Level 2 options in this roundup.
- The 16-foot cable offers less reach than the 25-foot cables on several alternatives.
- J1772 connection does not directly fit vehicles using a NACS port without an adapter.
Best for: Drivers with low daily mileage who have access to a suitable standard 120V outlet and want a portable home or backup charger without installing a 240V circuit.
Not ideal for: Drivers who routinely need substantial overnight range, or whose parking spot is far from the available outlet; Level 2 models such as the AIMILER charge faster and offer longer cables.
- Charging level:Level 1
- Input voltage:120V
- Current:15A
- Power:1.65 kW
- Plug:NEMA 5-15
- Connector:J1772
- Cable length:16 ft
- Protection and certifications:ETL, FCC, Energy Star; IP65; overvoltage, overcurrent, and short-circuit protection
Our verdict“Pick the Lectron if a standard outlet and portability matter more than the faster charging of a Level 2 unit.”
AIMILER Level 2 Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger (WIFI APP/Plug-play), 32A, 25ft Cable ETL Certified, 220V-240V NEMA 14-50P Plug EVSE w/ J1772 Connector, Portable EV Car Charging Stations for Home Level 2
The AIMILER 32A is a good fit for drivers who want Level 2 speed and app scheduling without choosing a hardwired installation. Its NEMA 14-50 plug and 25-foot cable offer a practical home setup, while adjustable current lets owners match charging to the circuit instead of assuming every home can support the maximum output. The app adds charging schedules and status tracking, and the screen provides a local readout when a phone is inconvenient. Compared with the hardwired WOLFBOX WE50, the AIMILER is easier to relocate but delivers less maximum current and relies on a plug-in receptacle. Its optional 120V adapter is not included and reduces it to Level 1 speeds, so I would not treat that as a fast-charge fallback.
Pros:- Up to 32A charging on a 220–240V supply, with current settings from 16A to 32A.
- 25-foot cable gives more parking flexibility than the Lectron Level 1’s 16-foot lead.
- Wi-Fi app supports scheduling, charging history, cost tracking, and status notifications.
- ETL and FCC listed, with NEMA Type 4 protection and built-in leakage detection.
Cons:- Requires a compatible 240V NEMA 14-50 receptacle for its advertised Level 2 operation.
- The 110–120V adapter is sold separately and limits charging to Level 1 speeds.
- App setup requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network, which may add friction in some homes.
Best for: J1772 EV or plug-in hybrid owners with a correctly installed NEMA 14-50 receptacle who want scheduling, adjustable current, and a charger they can move.
Not ideal for: Drivers without a 240V receptacle, buyers seeking hardwired high-current charging, or anyone expecting the 120V adapter to deliver Level 2 performance.
- Charging level:Level 2
- Input voltage:220–240V
- Maximum current:32A
- Maximum power:7.68 kW
- Plug:NEMA 14-50P
- Connector:J1772
- Cable length:25 ft
- Controls and protection:Wi-Fi app, display, adjustable current; ETL and FCC listed; NEMA Type 4
Our verdict“Choose the AIMILER if you have a 14-50 outlet and want app features in a portable Level 2 charger.”
WOLFBOX 50amp Level 2 EV Charger, Hardwired with J1772 Connector, 240V (WE50)
For a home with electrical capacity for a substantial dedicated circuit, the WOLFBOX WE50 offers a faster ceiling than the 32A AIMILER: it is rated for up to 50A and 12 kW, with a stated requirement for a 70A-or-greater breaker. Its hardwired installation suits a permanent charging spot, while app control, RFID, and plug-and-charge give different household members ways to start charging. The NEMA 4X housing and 25-foot cable also support indoor or outdoor placement. That higher output is not an automatic advantage for every buyer: installation and panel capacity are bigger constraints than with a plug-in charger, and the vehicle must accept the available current to benefit. I’d choose the WOLFBOX over the AIMILER for capacity, not portability.
Pros:- Up to 50A and 12 kW output for homes and vehicles that support higher-current charging.
- App, RFID card, and plug-and-charge provide several access methods for a household.
- 25-foot cable helps reach vehicles parked farther from the installation point.
- CSA and FCC certification, NEMA 4X enclosure, and listed electrical protection features.
Cons:- Hardwired installation requires a dedicated circuit rated at 70A or greater, creating a significant electrical requirement.
- Fixed installation is less convenient to relocate than the plug-in AIMILER.
- The higher output may not translate to faster charging for vehicles with lower onboard charging limits.
Best for: Multi-driver households with a suitable electrical panel, a fixed parking location, and vehicles that can make use of higher-current Level 2 charging.
Not ideal for: Renters, drivers who need to move a charger between locations, or homes that cannot support the required hardwired circuit.
- Charging level:Level 2
- Input voltage:240V
- Maximum current:50A
- Maximum power:12 kW
- Installation:Hardwired; requires a 70A-or-greater circuit breaker
- Connector:J1772; Tesla requires a NACS adapter
- Cable length:25 ft
- Controls and enclosure:App, RFID, or plug-and-charge; NEMA 4X
- Certification:CSA and FCC
Our verdict“The WOLFBOX makes sense for a permanent home installation where the panel and vehicle can take advantage of its higher output.”
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 48A – Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station
The EVIQO 48A balances a high-output hardwired setup with useful app controls, making it a strong choice for owners who want more than a basic wall unit. On a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit, it delivers up to 48A; a separate configuration can allow 50A on a 70A circuit. The app supports current adjustment, scheduling, and energy tracking, while the IP66/NEMA 4 enclosure and 25-foot cable suit garage or outdoor installs. Compared with the WOLFBOX WE50, the EVIQO lists a lower standard maximum current but includes UL, ETL, and Energy Star certifications and a stated three-year warranty. It still needs professional hardwiring, and its smart controls depend on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, so this is not the pick for a portable or network-free setup.
Pros:- Up to 48A output on a dedicated 60A circuit, with a 50A configuration available on a 70A circuit.
- App offers charging controls, scheduling, reminders, and energy-use tracking.
- 25-foot cable and IP66/NEMA 4 enclosure support flexible indoor or outdoor placement.
- UL, ETL, FCC, and Energy Star certifications are listed, along with a three-year manufacturer warranty.
Cons:- Hardwired installation requires a licensed electrician and substantial circuit capacity.
- Smart features require a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network.
- Tesla vehicles need the J1772 adapter supplied with the vehicle.
Best for: Homeowners planning a permanent hardwired installation who want app scheduling and energy tracking alongside high-current J1772 charging.
Not ideal for: Renters, drivers who need a plug-in portable unit, or homes without capacity for a dedicated 60A circuit and electrician installation.
- Charging level:Level 2
- Input voltage:240V
- Maximum current:48A standard; 50A with specified 70A-circuit configuration
- Circuit requirement:Dedicated 60A circuit for 48A; 70A circuit for 50A configuration
- Installation:Hardwired
- Connector:J1772
- Cable length:25 ft
- Connectivity:App control over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Protection and certifications:IP66/NEMA 4; UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star
Our verdict“Choose the EVIQO if you want a certified, app-enabled hardwired charger and have the electrical capacity for its installation.”
EVWallbox Level 2 EV Charger ETL Certified with J1772 25′ Cable
The EVWallbox Level 2 combines a plug-in 40A setup with a 4.3-inch display, app control, and an RFID card, giving drivers both at-the-unit information and phone-based management. Its stated 9.6 kW output and 25-foot cable make it a practical alternative to the 32A AIMILER when a home has a suitable NEMA 14-50 outlet and needs more charging capacity. The display can be handy for checking status without opening an app, while RFID offers a simple way to manage access for family or guests. The tradeoff is that the listing does not specify the charger’s Wi-Fi band or a detailed app feature set, and its 40A output remains below the hardwired WOLFBOX and EVIQO options. I’d pick it for plug-in convenience and local visibility, not maximum speed.
Pros:- 40A and 9.6 kW output provide more capacity than the 32A AIMILER.
- NEMA 14-50 plug-in design avoids hardwiring when a suitable receptacle is already installed.
- 4.3-inch display, app control, and RFID card provide multiple ways to check or manage charging.
- 25-foot J1772 cable and NEMA Type 4/IP65 weather protection.
Cons:- Requires a compatible 240V NEMA 14-50 outlet for its full Level 2 output.
- 40A maximum output is lower than the hardwired WOLFBOX WE50 and EVIQO 48A.
- The supplied details do not identify Wi-Fi frequency or give a full account of app functions.
Best for: Households with a NEMA 14-50 outlet that want a plug-in 40A charger, an easy-to-read display, and RFID access for shared charging.
Not ideal for: Drivers seeking the highest output in this group, or buyers who need hardwired installation and clearly specified smart-network details.
- Charging level:Level 2
- Input voltage:240V
- Current:40A
- Power:9.6 kW
- Plug:NEMA 14-50
- Connector:J1772
- Cable length:25 ft
- Controls:4.3-inch display, smartphone app, RFID card
- Protection and certification:ETL certified; FCC compliant; NEMA Type 4/IP65 enclosure
Our verdict“Pick the EVWallbox if you want a 40A plug-in charger with a built-in display and RFID access rather than a hardwired high-output unit.”
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger J1772 – NEMA 14-50 Plug
The plug-in ChargePoint HomeFlex suits drivers who want a familiar charging app and a 240V setup without hardwiring. Its NEMA 14-50 plug is convenient when a compatible outlet is already installed, while the J1772 connector serves non-Tesla EVs; Tesla drivers need an adapter. Compared with the EVIQO 40A, ChargePoint emphasizes its broader app and public-network ecosystem, while EVIQO provides a longer 25-foot cable and more explicitly detailed weather sealing. HomeFlex advertises up to 45 miles of range per hour, but actual charging speed depends on the vehicle and circuit. The tradeoff is installation flexibility: this version needs a dedicated 40A or 50A circuit and the right receptacle, so it is a poor fit if your garage has only an ordinary household outlet.
Pros:- NEMA 14-50 plug avoids hardwiring when a suitable outlet and circuit are already available.
- ChargePoint app supports charging controls, reminders, data, and smart-home connections.
- Advertised charging performance reaches up to 45 miles of range per hour, vehicle-dependent.
- UL-certified and described for indoor or outdoor installation, with a cold-resistant cable.
Cons:- Requires a dedicated 40A or 50A circuit and a NEMA 14-50 receptacle.
- J1772 connector requires a separate adapter for Tesla vehicles.
- Cable length and specific weather-protection rating are not stated in the supplied details.
Best for: EV owners with a NEMA 14-50 outlet who want home charging managed through ChargePoint’s app and network tools.
Not ideal for: Drivers without a compatible 240V receptacle, or those who want a hardwired installation or a cable longer than the listed details specify.
- Charger level:Level 2
- Input/output voltage:240V
- Connector:J1772
- Power connection:NEMA 14-50 plug
- Circuit requirement:40A or 50A circuit
- Maximum advertised charging rate:Up to 45 miles of range per hour; vehicle-dependent
- Ports:1
- Certification:UL
- Weight:13.8 lb
Our verdict“Choose HomeFlex if you already have a suitable 14-50 outlet and value ChargePoint app integration more than a longer cable or hardwired setup.”
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 – 240V Wall Charging Station
The EVIQO 40A packs a useful set of practical features into a plug-in charger: a 25-foot cable, app-based scheduling, adjustable current, and a glow-in-the-dark holster. That cable reach makes it more flexible across a garage or driveway than the ChargePoint HomeFlex plug-in, whose supplied details do not state a cable length. EVIQO also specifies IP66 and NEMA 4 protection, making its outdoor-use claims clearer than the ChargePoint listing. Its 40A ceiling is enough for many overnight charging routines, but it does not match the higher-power, hardwired ChargePoint HomeFlex option for homes prepared for a larger circuit. Buyers need a 240V NEMA 14-50 outlet on a dedicated 50A circuit, and smart controls require 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. Check the outlet and vehicle port before choosing it.
Pros:- 25-foot cable offers useful reach across many garages and driveways.
- App provides scheduling, current adjustment from 6A to 40A, and energy-use tracking.
- IP66 and NEMA 4 housing is specified for indoor and outdoor conditions.
- UL, ETL, FCC, and Energy Star certifications are listed, alongside a three-year warranty.
Cons:- Requires a NEMA 14-50 outlet and a dedicated 50A circuit.
- App connectivity requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, not 5 GHz.
- 40A maximum output is below the 48A and 50A hardwired options in this roundup.
Best for: Drivers with a dedicated 50A circuit and NEMA 14-50 outlet who want app scheduling, outdoor-rated construction, and extra cable reach.
Not ideal for: Households without a 14-50 outlet, users relying only on 5 GHz Wi-Fi, or drivers seeking the highest available hardwired charging output.
- Charger level:Level 2
- Voltage:240V
- Maximum current:40A
- Power connection:NEMA 14-50 plug
- Required circuit:Dedicated 50A circuit
- Connector:J1772
- Cable length:25 ft
- Weather protection:IP66 / NEMA 4
- Wi-Fi:2.4 GHz
Our verdict“Pick EVIQO for a feature-rich, weather-rated plug-in charger when your home already has the required outlet and circuit.”
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A
This hardwired ChargePoint HomeFlex is for owners planning a fixed installation and wanting app-connected charging without a plug-in receptacle. Its adjustable 16–50A output gives an electrician room to set it for the available circuit, and the listing advertises up to 37 miles of range per hour for this configuration. That makes it a stronger fit for a higher-capacity electrical setup than the plug-in 40A EVIQO, though the EVIQO is easier to move or replace through its NEMA 14-50 connection. HomeFlex adds ChargePoint app functions and access to its charging network, but some features and troubleshooting depend on Wi-Fi. Installation requires an electrician, and the J1772 connector means Tesla drivers need an adapter. Choose this model for a permanent, higher-output setup—not for a renter or anyone seeking an outlet-based charger.
Pros:- Hardwired installation avoids relying on a NEMA 14-50 receptacle.
- Adjustable 16–50A output can be matched to the installed circuit.
- Advertised output reaches up to 37 miles of range per hour, depending on the vehicle.
- ChargePoint app supports remote control, reminders, charging data, and smart-home connections.
Cons:- Hardwiring calls for an electrician and is less portable than the plug-in HomeFlex or EVIQO.
- Wi-Fi is needed for some app features and troubleshooting.
- J1772 connector requires an adapter for Tesla vehicles.
Best for: Homeowners arranging electrician-installed charging on a suitable circuit who want adjustable output and ChargePoint app features.
Not ideal for: Renters, frequent movers, or drivers who need a plug-in charger that can be disconnected without an electrician.
- Charger level:Level 2
- Voltage:240V AC
- Connection:Hardwired
- Connector:J1772
- Adjustable current:16–50A
- Advertised charging rate:Up to 37 miles of range per hour; vehicle-dependent
- Cable length:23 ft
- Certification:Energy Star
- Dimensions:7.06 x 11.19 x 7.07 in
Our verdict“Choose the hardwired HomeFlex if you want ChargePoint’s app ecosystem in a permanent installation and your electrical setup supports its output.”
Level 2 EV Charger for Tesla, 48Amp/11.5KW, UL 2594/ETL/Energy Star
The IYILO 48A is the lineup’s direct fit for drivers whose vehicles use a native NACS connector and who want more than basic scheduled charging. Its connector temperature sensor can reduce power or stop charging if heat rises past the stated threshold, while app controls include time-of-use settings, energy tracking, and RFID access. It also supports power sharing between two chargers on one circuit; dynamic load balancing, however, requires the separately available energy meter. Compared with the J1772 ChargePoint hardwired model, IYILO connects directly to NACS vehicles but needs an adapter for J1772 cars. Its 48A output and 11.5kW rating suit a capable electrical installation, yet it requires hardwiring, a 60A breaker, and an electrician. Wi-Fi is limited to 2.4 GHz.
Pros:- Native NACS connector serves compatible vehicles without a separate charging adapter.
- Connector temperature monitoring can reduce power or shut charging off above the specified threshold.
- Power sharing supports two chargers on one circuit.
- App offers time-of-use settings, energy tracking, scheduled charging, and RFID mode.
Cons:- Requires hardwiring, a 60A breaker, and licensed electrician installation.
- J1772 vehicles need an adapter, which is not included.
- Dynamic load balancing requires a separately available energy meter, and Wi-Fi supports 2.4 GHz only.
Best for: NACS-equipped EV owners planning a hardwired installation who want connector temperature monitoring, power sharing, and app scheduling.
Not ideal for: Drivers with J1772 vehicles who do not want to buy an adapter, or homeowners seeking a plug-in charger or included dynamic load-balancing meter.
- Charger level:Level 2
- Maximum current:48A
- Power:11.5kW
- Installation:Hardwired; 60A breaker required
- Connector:NACS / J3400
- Cable length:25 ft
- Wi-Fi:2.4 GHz
- Listed certifications:UL 2594 test report, ETL, Energy Star, CSA
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“IYILO is the better match for NACS drivers who want advanced charging controls and power sharing and can accommodate a 60A hardwired installation.”
EVDANCE Level 1&2 EV Charger, Electric Vehicle Portable Charger with 25FT Cable, ETL Listed J1772 EVSE for All EVs & PHEVs, 12A 120V/16A 240V(Black, 16A Max | NEMA 5-15&6-20(Standard Home Plug))
The EVDANCE portable charger trades the speed of the fixed Level 2 units for flexibility: it can use a standard 120V outlet or a compatible 240V NEMA 6-20 outlet, with a 25-foot cable and carry bag for moving between locations. On 240V it is rated up to 16A, far below the 40A EVIQO and 48A IYILO, so it is better for modest daily driving or occasional top-ups than rapid overnight replenishment after a long commute. The included 5-15 adapter makes ordinary outlet charging possible, but that mode is slower still. Outlet compatibility needs careful checking: it does not directly fit common 14-50 or dryer-style outlets, and the stated vehicle exclusions mean buyers should verify their model before purchase. Tesla drivers need a separate adapter.
Pros:- Supports both 120V and 240V charging with the included NEMA 6-20 and 5-15 connection options.
- 25-foot cable and carry bag suit portable or occasional-use charging.
- LED display indicates charging status and errors.
- IP66 enclosure and ETL listing are specified.
Cons:- Maximum 16A at 240V is much slower than the 40A and higher Level 2 chargers in this roundup.
- Does not directly fit several common 240V outlets, including NEMA 14-50 and 14-30.
- Listed vehicle exclusions and the need for a separate Tesla adapter require compatibility checks.
Best for: Drivers with modest daily mileage who want a portable J1772 charger for compatible 120V outlets and NEMA 6-20 access.
Not ideal for: High-mileage drivers who need fast overnight charging, or owners whose available outlet is NEMA 14-50, 14-30, 10-30, or 6-50 without a separate adapter.
- Charging modes:Level 1 and Level 2
- Voltage:120V or 240V
- Maximum current:12A at 120V; 16A at 240V
- Power:1.44kW at 120V; 3.68kW at 240V
- Connectors:J1772 vehicle connector; NEMA 6-20 plug with NEMA 5-15 adapter
- Cable length:25 ft
- Weather protection:IP66
- Certification:ETL listed
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Pick EVDANCE if portability and access to both 120V and NEMA 6-20 outlets matter more than fast charging or broad outlet compatibility.”

How We Picked
I compared the 15 chargers around the choices that shape home charging: charging output, electrical connection, connector fit, cable length, portability, and smart controls. I also weighed whether the listed installation style gives a buyer a practical path from purchase to regular use. A higher amp rating did not automatically earn a higher place: a hardwired unit can be a poor fit for a home without suitable wiring, while a lower-output portable charger may better suit an occasional driver.
The ranking favors useful capability with a clear buyer fit. I gave stronger consideration to options that pair meaningful Level 2 output with helpful flexibility or controls, then separated plug-in models from hardwired choices and Level 1 portables. Where listings provide limited detail, I avoid treating unlisted functions as confirmed advantages. Buyers should verify electrical requirements, certifications, compatibility, and installation details with the manufacturer and a qualified electrician before purchase.
| home electric vehicle charger | Connector |
|---|---|
| ELEGRP 48A Level 2 EV Charger | SAE J1772 |
| EMPORIA Pro Level 2 EV Charger | J1772 |
| Level 1&2 EV Charger | SAE J1772 |
| Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV C | J1772 |
| IYILO Level 2 EV Charger | SAE J1772 |
| Lectron Level 1 EV Charger | J1772 |
| AIMILER Level 2 Electric Vehic | J1772 |
| WOLFBOX 50amp Level 2 EV Charg | J1772; Tesla requires a NACS adapter |
| EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 | J1772 |
| EVWallbox Level 2 EV Charger E | J1772 |
| ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 E | J1772 |
| EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 | J1772 |
| ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 E | J1772 |
| Level 2 EV Charger for Tesla | NACS / J3400 |
| EVDANCE Level 1&2 EV Charger | — |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Home Electric Vehicle Chargers
Choosing a charger is partly a product decision and partly a home-electrical decision. I’d settle the installation and vehicle-compatibility questions before comparing app features or cable extras; those early checks can rule out a seemingly attractive model.
Match Charging Speed to Your Driving Routine
A higher-output charger can shorten a home charging session, but the practical benefit depends on how far you drive and how long the vehicle sits parked. Drivers who return home with plenty of time before the next trip may get little value from the highest available amperage. Frequent long-distance driving or a short overnight parking window can make Level 2 output more useful. Level 1 may suit light daily use, though it can struggle to replace a large amount of energy overnight. Compare the charger’s output with the vehicle’s onboard charging limit, since the car can cap the speed regardless of the station. Choose for your typical week, not just a rare day when you need the fastest possible refill.
Check Your Electrical Supply Before Buying
A charger’s advertised amperage is not a standalone promise of the charging rate your home can provide. The circuit, breaker, wiring, panel capacity, and installation method all affect what is safe and possible. Plug-in models such as NEMA 14-50 units require a suitable receptacle and circuit; a plug that fits does not prove that the circuit is appropriately rated. Hardwired units can suit a permanent installation, but they may call for dedicated electrical work. Ask a qualified electrician to assess the intended location and circuit before settling on an output rating. This check can prevent paying for capacity your home cannot use without upgrades.
Choose Plug-In or Hardwired for Your Home, Not Just Convenience
A plug-in charger can be easier to remove or relocate if the matching outlet is already installed and correctly rated. Hardwired models create a fixed installation and may be preferable when you want a permanent setup or need an installation without a receptacle. Neither format is universally simpler: a new outlet can require electrical work, and hardwiring also needs a qualified installation. Think about whether you may move, replace the charger, or use the outlet for another purpose. Some buyers focus on the charging unit and overlook the cost and logistics of getting power to the parking space. Confirm the full installation plan before choosing between a plug and a fixed connection.
Verify Connector and Vehicle Compatibility
Many chargers in this roundup use a J1772 connector, which makes checking your vehicle’s inlet and any adapter requirements a key part of the purchase. Tesla owners should verify whether the charger’s connector works directly with their vehicle or needs an adapter, and whether that adapter is included. A product described as Tesla-specific may differ from a J1772 model, but the listing still needs to match the exact vehicle and model year. Plug-in and hardwired descriptions do not tell you anything about connector compatibility. Check the manufacturer’s compatibility information rather than relying on a broad label such as “for all EVs.” Also confirm that the cable can reach the vehicle’s charge port from the planned mounting location.
Treat Cable Reach and Mounting as Daily-Use Decisions
A cable that reaches one parking position may not reach a second vehicle or a charge port on the opposite side of the car. Measure the route from the proposed mounting point, allowing for the path the cable must take rather than measuring in a straight line. A longer cable can offer flexibility, but it also needs a tidy storage plan and should not create a tripping hazard. Portable models may be useful when charging locations change, while wall-mounted stations can keep a regular parking space organized. Consider where the cable will sit when the charger is not in use and whether the installation is exposed to weather. A small amount of planning can prevent daily awkwardness after the electrical work is done.
Pay for Smart Features Only When You’ll Use Them
App controls, charging schedules, and energy-management features can help drivers coordinate charging with household routines or electricity plans. They add less value if you plan to plug in and charge without remote monitoring or scheduling. Check what the app actually controls, whether the charger can still operate without an internet connection, and whether setup requires a stable home network at the installation point. Power management features may help a household balance charging with other electrical loads, but they do not replace checking circuit capacity. Simpler units can be a better choice for buyers who want a straightforward charging point. Compare the specific functions offered instead of assuming every connected charger provides the same control.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I choose a 48-amp hardwired charger or a 40-amp plug-in model?
I’d choose based on the home circuit and installation plan before focusing on the difference in output. A 48-amp hardwired model can suit a buyer with compatible electrical capacity who wants a permanent, higher-output setup. A 40-amp NEMA 14-50 option may fit a home that already has a properly rated receptacle and a preference for a removable unit. The vehicle’s onboard charging limit can also reduce the practical gap between them. Ask an electrician to confirm the circuit and installation requirements, then compare the benefit of added output with the work needed to support it.
Can I use a Level 1 charger as my only home charger?
Yes, if your driving needs are modest and the car can remain plugged in long enough to replace the energy you use. The Lectron Level 1 and EVDANCE portable charger are the clearest fits in this roundup for buyers who want household-outlet charging rather than a dedicated Level 2 installation. Their lower output makes them less suited to drivers who regularly cover long distances or need a quick turnaround between trips. Check the outlet and charger requirements, and avoid relying on an extension cord unless the manufacturer explicitly permits it. If charging time becomes a regular inconvenience, a Level 2 unit may be a better fit.
Do I need an adapter to use a J1772 home charger with a Tesla?
That depends on the Tesla model, its inlet, the charger connector, and whether an appropriate adapter is supplied or approved for use. Many entries in this roundup are J1772 models, so Tesla owners should confirm compatibility before ordering rather than assuming a shared vehicle category means a direct fit. The Tesla-specific 48-amp listing may be a more natural starting point, but its exact connector and installation details still need verification. Check the manufacturer’s instructions and the vehicle documentation for adapter guidance. Also confirm that the adapter supports the charger’s intended current and is suitable for home charging.
Is a NEMA 14-50 charger ready to use as soon as I buy it?
Only if your home already has a correctly installed, compatible NEMA 14-50 receptacle and the charger’s electrical requirements match that circuit. The outlet’s shape alone does not confirm that its wiring, breaker, or condition is suitable for sustained EV charging. If you need a new receptacle, an electrician should assess the panel and install the circuit appropriately. The Autel MaxiCharger and EVIQO are plug-in examples, but their format does not remove the need for a safe electrical setup. Confirm the manufacturer’s instructions before connecting the unit.
When is a smart charger worth choosing over a basic model?
A smart charger makes more sense if you expect to use scheduling, remote status checks, or power-management features regularly. The EMPORIA Pro stands out in this lineup for its PowerSmart feature, while simpler portable options may suit buyers who only need a place to plug in. Consider whether your electricity plan rewards scheduled charging and whether Wi-Fi reaches the charger’s mounting location. Check which features remain available if the internet connection drops. If you will not use app controls, prioritize electrical fit, connector compatibility, cable reach, and straightforward operation instead.
Conclusion
For the broadest mix of output and connected features, I’d start with the EMPORIA Pro as the best overall choice. The Level 1&2 16-amp adjustable charger is my best value-style pick for buyers who want plug flexibility without committing to a high-output hardwired installation, while the ChargePoint HomeFlex hardwired 50-amp is the premium option for drivers seeking a permanent, high-output setup and willing to verify their electrical capacity. Beginners who already have a suitable NEMA 14-50 outlet may find the Autel MaxiCharger easier to plan around than a hardwired station. For light daily driving or portable use, I’d look at the Lectron Level 1 or EVDANCE Level 1&2; Tesla owners should confirm connector and adapter details before choosing any J1772 model. The best fit is the charger your home can support, your vehicle can use, and your routine will benefit from.
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.















